Just in time for the 25th anniversary of the film’s release, Intrada records is issuing a new special edition soundtrack CD for the most popular Star Trek film of all time, STAR TREK IV: THE VOYAGE HOME.

It’s been a good couple of years to be a Star Trek soundtrack fan.  In the past few years we’ve seen special edition releases of the scores for STAR TREK II: THE WRATH OF KHAN, STAR TREK III: THE SEARCH FOR SPOCK and STAR TREK V: THE FINAL FRONTIER as well as an expanded release of the score for JJ Abrams’ STAR TREK.

The expanded edition of Leonard Rosenman’s score first, and foremost, does what all the other releases have done which is correct the INCREDIBLE mistake made on the original releases, which is finally making all the music from the film available to us.

The track listing from Intrada is as follows:

01. Logo/Main Title† 2:52
02. Starfleet Command/On Vulcan/ Spock/Ten Seconds of Tension 1:40
03. The Probe 1:16
04. The Probe—Transition/The Take-Off/ Menace of the Probe/Clouds and Water/Crew Stunned 3:08
05. Time Travel 1:28
06. Market Street* 4:38
07. In San Francisco 2:01
08. Chekov’s Run 1:21
09. Gillian Seeks Kirk 2:42
10. Hospital Chase 1:14
11. The Whaler 2:00
12. Crash/Whale Fugue 8:38
13. Kirk Freed 0:44
14. Home Again†/End Credits 5:39
Total Score Time: 40:06

15. Ballad of the Whale* 4:59
16. Main Title† (alternate) 2:56
17. Time Travel (alternate) 1:29
18. Chekov’s Run (album ending) 1:19
19. The Whaler (alternate) 2:05
20. Crash/Whale Fugue (album track) 8:15
21. Home Again† and End Credits (alternate) 5:16
22. Main Title† (album track) 2:40
23. Whale Fugue (alternate) 1:05
24. I Hate You** (contains explicit lyrics) 1:59
Total Extras Time: 32:32

*Performed by The Yellowjackets, Composed by Leonard Rosenman, Russell Ferrante and Jimmy Haslip.
**Performed by Edge of Etiquette, Written by Kirk Thatcher, Arranged by Mark Mangini.
†Contains “Theme From Star Trek (TV Series)” by Alexander Courage

I always love hearing alternate versions of some of the pieces that appear in a film.  One of the most amazing releases of this kind from recent times is the Intrada release of the film score for BACK TO THE FUTURE.  The 2-disc set included both the full score as it appears in the film and an earlier, darker version of the score from when Eric Stoltz was still in the part (which was a slightly less humorous take of the story and therefore a slightly more ominous-sounding score).

The most amazing piece, though, in the new STAR TREK IV collection is the alternate version of the MAIN TITLE (track 16).  What’s so fascinating about it is that it is nothing short of Mr. Rosenman’s take on Alexander Courage’s original theme for STAR TREK.  It’s the original STAR TREK theme done with full orchestra.  While it can be easy to see why this wasn’t used in the actual film (after 3 films not using the original theme, it might have been a bit awkward), it would be fun to see what this would have looked like.  If you’re interested in how that would sound, by the way, this is one of the tracks you can actually sample on Intrada’s website.  Feel free to head on over there and take a listen.

Most of the music from the film that didn’t appear on the original soundtrack release comes from earlier in the movie, before they actually travel through time.  The inclusion of these pieces (some of which you can also sample on Intrada’s site) really makes the score feel complete.  Also, there are some differences between the versions that appeared in the movie versus what were on the original album.  Both of those are included in the new release.

Rosenman’s score is among one of the better scores as a whole from the STAR TREK franchise.  Coming off of Jerry Goldsmith’s bombastic score for STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE, and the one-two punch of James Horner’s nautical score for STAR TREK II: THE WRATH OF KHAN and his more spiritual score for STAR TREK III: THE SEARCH FOR SPOCK, Rosenman decides to take a different approach, striking out with his own musical style rather than trying to emulate what came before.

His score makes full use of the orchestra’s strings and brass sections, giving the film its own unique sound, separate from the rest of the franchise.  The new release also features MARKET STREET, a mildly jazzy tune that accompanies the crew’s first taste of 20th century Earth, and I HATE YOU, which is featured in the classic film moment where Spock takes on an 80’s punk rocker.

While I’ve only been able to hear snippets of the score, I’m VERY much looking forward to it’s release later this month.


  1. Tiberius says:

    I hope Santa, or Dominick the Donkey, or Hanukkah Harry bring this to you so maybe sometime next year you will offer it to me!